PrintPrint © 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Phillies centerfielder Shane Victorino named Humanitarian of the Year by Philadelphia Sports Writers Association
01/03/2011 3:36 PM ET

Shane Victorino of the Phillies, the "Flyin' Hawaiian," has soared to new heights this year, landing the 2010 Humanitarian of the Year award given by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association. The centerfielder will be in Cherry Hill, NJ to receive his award at the PSWA's 107th annual banquet on January 31st, 2011 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on Route 70.

The former All-Star and his wife Melissa have created the Shane Victorino Foundation to promote opportunities for youth in Philadelphia and Hawaii by engaging in projects which provide children with educational, recreational and wellness programs. Beneficiaries of the 2010 Shane Victorino Foundation Celebrity Dinner & Golf Classic in Maui include the Waipio Little League program, the Boys & Girls Clubs of Maui and St. Anthony's School Shane Victorino Scholarship Fund.

Through a $900,000 pledge to the Boys & Girls Clubs of Philadelphia, the Foundation's first effort in Philadelphia will be to renovate the Nicetown Club, located in one of the most impoverished, economically-challenged areas of the city, with no positive after-school options for neighborhood youth.

Shane was also honored recently with the Phillies' Roberto Clemente Award, the 2010 Phillies Charities Community Service Award and named the prestigious Union League's Sportsman of the Year. Previously, he was honored with the 2009 Phi Delta Theta International Lou Gehrig Memorial Award given annually to the MLB player who best exemplifies the giving character of Hall of Famer Lou Gehrig. Shane is also a member of the Philadelphia Action Team, a national young volunteer initiative by the MLB Trust and Volunteers of America and is featured in a national ad campaign promoting volunteerism.

On the field, Victorino recently finished his sixth season with the Phillies and became one of nine National League players to win 2010 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, his third Gold Glove Award in as many years. Victorino posted a .995 fielding percentage, committing only two errors in 373 total chances. He finished tied for the NL lead in outfield assists with 11, first among all NL center fielders, and ranked second in double plays (4). Victorino is now the sixth Phillie to have won at least three Gold Glove Awards, joining Mike Schmidt (10), Garry Maddox (8), Manny Trillo (3), Scott Rolen (3) and Jimmy Rollins (3).

The "Flyin' Hawaiian" will join other Phillies personnel, namely teammate Roy Halladay (2010 Pro Athlete of the Year), general manager Ruben Amaro Junior and manager Charlie Manuel, at the head table. Other announced honorees include Bill Bergey, the former Eagles great selected as Living Legend; and the 2010 Philadelphia Flyers, selected as 2010 Team of the Year. The award will be accepted by popular Flyers right winger Ian Laperriere Other awards, including Amateur Athlete of the Year, Good Guy Athlete, Native Son and Outstanding Penn Relays collegiate performer, will be announced soon. The most coveted award, the Most Courageous, is kept secret until the night of the dinner. The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association was founded on May 12, 1904, and the first of what would become an annual Awards Dinner was held Feb. 15, 1905.

Tickets for the dinner are $95 each and are available now, either online at , or you can send a check payable to PSWA and send to Robbie Kenney/Ticket Chairman, PSWA, 110 Harrogate Drive, Lumberton, NJ, 08048.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Phillies Homepage   |