Rare ruling cited in would-be double play
Dodgers' Loney charged with intentionally dropping ball
LOS ANGELES -- The Dodgers could have had a double play on Pedro Martinez's attempted sacrifice bunt in the top of the third inning during Game 2 of the National League Championship Series at Dodger Stadium on Friday.But a little gamesmanship by Dodgers first baseman James Loney did not go unnoticed by the umpires.
If he had fielded the ball on a hop, Loney could have attempted a more conventional double play by throwing to second base to force Ruiz and trying to double up Martinez at first. The mistake did not end up costing the Dodgers. Ruiz stole second base with two out, but was stranded when Shane Victorino popped out to end the inning.
T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.