To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

09/21/2007 3:34 PM ET
Berry, Zagurski win 2007 Paul Owens Award
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
Outfielder Quintin Berry and left-handed pitcher Mike Zagurski are the winners of the Paul Owens Award for the best player and pitcher, respectively, in the Phillies minor league system for 2007, Mike Arbuckle, Assistant General Manager, Scouting and Player Development, announced today.

The two players will receive their awards pre-game on Tuesday, September 25, when the Phillies host the Atlanta Braves at Citizens Bank Park.

Quintin Berry
Outfielder . . . B-T: L-L . . . HT: 6-0; WT: 170 . . . Age: 22 . . . Born: November 21, 1984, San Diego, CA . . . Resides: San Diego . . . Attended San Diego State University . . . How Obtained: Selected by Phillies in the fifth round of the June 2006 draft.

2007: Spent season with Lakewood BlueClaws . . . Played mostly CF (93 games) . . . Led the South Atlantic League with 55 stolen bases . . . Stolen base total was second among all players in the minors . . . Had a career-high 14-game hitting streak (5/21-6/5) and batted .455 (25-55, 13 R, 9 SB) . . . Hit safely in 26 of 31 games from 6/9-7/19, including an 8-game run-scoring streak (7/12-19) . . . Had 46 multi-hit games, including 16 games with three or more hits . . . Hit .378 (45-119) for August with 16 RBI and 14 SB . . . SAL in-season All-Star.

Steve Noworyta, Director, Minor Leagues: "Had an all-around consistent year for us both offensively and defensively. He showcased his speed on the basepaths with a big year at the plate. We look forward to his continued progression next season."

Minors Totals.2841886971201982163571711178613674225

* League leader

Mike Zagurski
Left-handed pitcher . . . B-T: L-L . . . HT: 6-0; WT: 225 . . . Age: 24 . . . Born: January 27, 1983, Omaha, NE . . . Resides: Omaha . . . Attended the University of Kansas . . . How Obtained: Selected by Phillies in the twelfth round of the June 2005 draft.

2007: Pitched at 4 levels in the Phillies organization . . . Began the season with Clearwater (A), where 11 of his 12 appearances were scoreless and he averaged 16.5 SO/9.0 IP . . . Held Florida State League hitters to a .113 average . . . Was promoted to Reading (AA) in May and appeared in 6 games (5 scoreless) before having his contract purchased on 5/25 . . . Made his ML debut, 5/25 at ATL (1.0 IP) . . . Earned his 1st ML win, 6/7 at NYM (1.0 IP, H, BB, SO) . . . Was optioned to Ottawa on 7/27 . . . Appeared in 7 games before being recalled on 8/15 . . . Overall, went 0-0, 1.39 ERA (5 ER, 32.1 IP) in 25 minor league games and averaged 13.6 SO/9.0 IP (49 SO/32.1 IP) . . . Was recalled on 8/16 . . . Placed on the 15-day DL on 8/19 (strained right hamstring) . . . Had season-ending surgery on his right hamstring on 8/27 (Dr. Jim Bradley).

Steve Noworyta, Director, Minor Leagues: "Put up impressive numbers at the minor league level this season, which translated to his quick rise. Continued improvement in command of all his pitches."
Minors Totals7-83.37828006133.210856502449167
ML Totals1-05.9125000021.1251414311121

PAUL OWENS AWARD Since 1986 the Phillies have honored the top player and pitcher in their minor league system. The award is named in honor of the late Paul Owens, who spent 48 years in the Phillies organization as a scout, farm director, general manager, manager and senior advisor. As GM, he was the architect of the 1980 World Champion Phillies and he managed the 1983 Phillies to the National League pennant.

1986Ron Jones (of)Marvin Freeman (rhp)
1987Ricky Jordan (1b)Todd Frohwirth (rhp)
1988Jim Vatcher (of)Andy Carter (lhp)
1989Mickey Morandini (2b)Jason Grimsley (rhp)
1990Jeff Grotewold (c)Andy Ashby (rhp)
1991Kim Batiste (ss)Toby Borland (rhp)
1992 Mike Lieberthal (c)Paul Fletcher (rhp)
1993Phil Geisler (of)Ricky Bottalico (rhp)
1994Gene Schall (1b)Ron Blazier (rhp)
1995Dave Doster (2b)Rich Hunter (rhp)
 Wendell Magee (of) 
1996Scott Rolen (3b)Matt Beech (lhp)
1997 Jeff Key (of)Ryan Brannan (rhp)
 Jimmy Rollins (ss) 
1998Marlon Anderson (2b)Carlton Loewer (rhp)
1999Pat Burrell (of/1b)Adam Eaton (rhp)
2000Marlon Byrd (of)Brandon Duckworth (rhp)
2001 Marlon Byrd (of)Brandon Duckworth (rhp)
2002Chase Utley (3b)Ryan Madson (rhp)
2003Ryan Howard (1b)Cole Hamels (lhp)
2004Ryan Howard (1b)Scott Mitchinson (rhp)
2005Chris Roberson (of)Robinson Tejeda (rhp)
2006Michael Bourn (of)Carlos Carrasco (rhp)
2007Quintin Berry (of)Mike Zagurski (lhp)
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page