To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

12/10/2010 9:46 AM ET
Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay named Pro Athlete of the Year by Philadelphia Sports Writers Association
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page

2010 Cy Young Award winner Roy Halladay of the Phillies added another honor to his amazing year, being named the 2010 Pro Athlete of the Year by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association. He will be on hand to receive his award at the PSWA's 107th annual banquet on January 31st, 2011 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel on Route 70 in Cherry Hill, NJ.

Halladay's accomplishments this season are numerous, becoming the 20th pitcher in major league history to toss a perfect game, besting the Florida Marlins in Miami on May 29th. In his first career playoff appearance, he then threw a no-hitter against the Cincinnati Reds in the opening game of the NLDS, becoming the second player ever to pitch a no-hitter in the postseason, joining Don Larsen of the 1956 Yankees, who pitched a perfect game in the World Series. He also became the first pitcher since Nolan Ryan in 1973 to throw two no-hitters in a season, as well as the seventh pitcher to hurl both a perfect game and a regular no-hitter in his career.

Halladay was an unanimous choice for the 2010 Cy Young Award, becoming the first Phillies pitcher to win the honor since Steve Bedrosian in 1987 and only the fifth pitcher ever to win the award in both leagues, joining Roger Clemens, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Gaylord Perry.

Halladay became the first pitcher to win 20 games in a Phillies uniform since Steve Carlton in 1982, going 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA and 219 strikeouts. He led the NL in wins, innings pitched (250 2/3), shutouts (4) and complete games (9).

The Phillies righthander will join other announced honorees Bill Bergey, the former Eagles great selected as Living Legend; and the 2010 Philadelphia Flyers, selected as 2010 Team of the Year. Other awards, including Amateur Athlete of the Year, Humanitarian, Good Guy Athlete, Native Son and Outstanding Penn Relays collegiate performer, will be announced soon. The most coveted award, the Most Courageous, is kept secret until the night of the dinner. The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association was founded on May 12, 1904, and the first of what would become an annual Awards Dinner was held Feb. 15, 1905.

Tickets for the dinner are $95 each and are available now, either online at , or you can send a check payable to PSWA and send to Robbie Kenney/Ticket Chairman, PSWA, 110 Harrogate Drive, Lumberton, NJ, 08048.

For more information, contact John Weber at (267) 408-7500. Visit or friend us on Facebook.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page