To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

09/21/2011 12:50 PM ET
BBWAA Philadelphia Chapter announces 2011 Phillies Award winners
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page

Cliff Lee edged Roy Halladay in a down-to-the-wire battle for the Steve Carlton Award and Shane Victorino won the Mike Schmidt Award in voting by the Philadelphia chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, which announced today the winners of its annual Phillies franchise awards.

Charlie Manuel and Raul Ibanez also were honored by the local writers. Manuel won the Dallas Green Award for special achievement. Ibanez won the Tug McGraw Good Guy Award.

Lee beat Halladay by two votes for the most valuable pitcher award. Lee leads the Phillies in ERA (2.38), strikeouts (232) and his six shutouts are the most in the majors in 13 years. He also has 16 wins, second to Halladay's 18.

Victorino beat Ryan Howard by three votes for the most valuable player award. Victorino is having his best all-around season. He leads the Phillies in runs (91) and triples (15), and his slugging percentage (.498) is highest among the regulars.

Manuel receives the special achievement award for becoming the first manager in franchise history to guide the Phillies to five consecutive division titles. He is also close to surpassing Gene Mauch for most wins. Manuel is four away from passing Mauch, who had 645 wins. Pat Gillick, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in July, finished second in voting.

Ibanez gets the good guy award given to the player who best exemplifies the Tugger's gregarious personality, and for his professional cooperation. Howard finished second in voting.

The awards were instituted by the BBWAA Philly chapter in 2004. They'll be presented on the field before Wednesday night's game against the Washington Nationals.

Previous winners were:
Year Mike Schmidt
Most Valuable Player
Steve Carlton
Most Valuable Pitcher
Dallas Green
Special Achievement
Tug McGraw
Good Guy Award
2004 Bobby Abreu Ryan Madson John Vukovich Amaury Telemaco
2005 Chase Utley & Pat Burrell Billy Wagner Mage McDonnell Billy Wagner
2006 Ryan Howard Tom Gordon Chris Coste Mike Lieberthal
2007 Jimmy Rollins Cole Hamels Larry Shenk Aaron Rowand
2008 Brad Lidge Cole Hamels Jamie Moyer Greg Dobbs
2009 Ryan Howard J.A. Happ Jamie Moyer Brad Lidge
2009 Ryan Howard Roy Halladay Roy Halladay Shane Victorino
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page