© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/22/09 1:21 AM ET

Phillies' NLCS MVP winners

Manny Trillo, 1980
Second baseman Manny Trillo became the first Phillies player to win the National League Championship Series Most Valuable Player Award during the gut-wrenching series against the Houston Astros.

His eight-inning triple in Game 5 capped a five-run comeback that gave the Phillies a 7-5 lead against future Hall of Famer Nolan Ryan. After Houston tied the game in their eighth, the Phillies won the pennant in the 10th on Garry Maddox's double. Earlier in the game, Trillo, who possessed a rifle arm, gunned down a game-tying run in the second inning.

Trillo led the Phillies in the NLCS with 12 total bases, tied Pete Rose for the most hits (eight) and tied Greg Luzinski for the most RBIs (four). His .381 average was second only to Rose's .400.

Gary Matthews, 1983
Left fielder Gary Matthews emerged as the NLCS MVP in 1983 when the Phillies defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers for their second National League pennant in four seasons.

The Dodgers dominated the Phillies during the regular season by winning 11 of 12 games, but Matthews provided the punch that decked L.A. In Game 3 at Veterans Stadium, Matthews hit his second homer of the series, singled twice, drove in four runs and stole a base as the Phillies took a 2-1 NLCS lead with a 7-2 win. Matthews set the tone in the decisive Game 4 with a three-run homer in the first inning in a second straight 7-2 victory.

For the series, Matthews hit .429 with three homers and eight RBIs. Half of his hits were homers.

Curt Schilling, 1993
The right-hander didn't win a game in two starts against the Atlanta Braves in the 1993 NLCS, but managed to win the Phillies' third MVP Award in six LCS.

Schilling started games Game 1 and Game 5, but wound up with a no-decision each time as the Phillies won both games by 4-3 scores in 10 innings. He set an NLCS record by striking out the first five Braves in Game 1. Atlanta scored a pair of runs on seven hits and two walks in eight innings. Schilling finished with an NLCS club record 10 strikeouts. In Game 5, he again allowed two runs (one earned) in eight innings on four hits, three walks and nine strikeouts.

In 16 total innings, he gave up three earned runs on 11 hits and five walks. He struck out 19 and finished with a 1.69 ERA, the lowest for the Phillies in LCS history.

Cole Hamels, 2008
The left-hander became the fourth Phillies player to win the NLCS MVP in 2008 against the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Hamels made two starts, Game 1 and 5, and won both. He pitched a total of 14 innings and allowed 11 his, five walks and three runs. He struck out 13. His ERA was 1.93.

He also won the World Series MVP, joining Mike Schmidt as the only other Phillies player to win that award. In five postseason starts, Hamels was 4-0 with a 1.80 ERA.

Ryan Howard, 2009
The first baseman won the award after hitting .333 (5-19) with two home runs and eight RBIs in the five-game series against the Dodgers.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.