© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/17/09 12:05 AM EST

Happ motivated by finish in Rookie vote

Hurler disappointed in outcome but proud of debut campaign

PHILADELPHIA -- J.A. Happ learned on Monday that he'd finished second in the National League Rookie of the Year voting.

He finished 11 points behind Marlins left fielder Chris Coghlan, 105-94, making it the third-closest NL Rookie of the Year vote this decade. Brewers third baseman Ryan Braun beat Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki by two votes, 128-126, in 2007, and Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez beat Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman by four votes, 105-101, in 2006.

"It was definitely nice to be in the mix," Happ said. "It was hard to say how it would stack up when comparing a hitter and a pitcher, but I was very confident with the entire season I had. But second place is second place, and that's really no consolation for me. I was really hoping to win, so it's definitely disappointing. But I'm still proud of the way the year went.

"Maybe this Rookie of the Year thing will give me more motivation -- not that I needed it, but I'll make sure I'm in great shape coming into Spring Training."

Charlie Manuel is a candidate for NL Manager of the Year, which will be announced on Wednesday, and first baseman Ryan Howard is a candidate for NL Most Valuable Player, which will be announced on Nov. 24.

The Phillies have had their share of major award winners. The most recent came in 2007, when shortstop Jimmy Rollins earned NL MVP honors after hitting .296 with 38 doubles, 20 triples, 30 home runs, 94 RBIs and 41 stolen bases.

Rollins became the first player in baseball history to have 200 hits, 20 doubles, 20 triples, 20 home runs and 20 stolen bases in a season. He set career highs in games (162), runs (139), hits (212), triples, home runs, RBIs, extra-base hits (88) and at-bats (716). He led the league in at-bats, runs and triples, and set NL records for runs and extra-base hits for a shortstop. He also set Major League records for plate appearances (778) and at-bats (716), and his 212 hits were the most for a Phillie since Dave Cash had 213 in 1975.

The Phillies have not had a NL Cy Young winner since 1987, when Steve Bedrosian won the award.

Howard was the NL MVP in 2006 and NL Rookie of the Year in 2005.

Following is a look at Philadelphia's award winners.

NL Most Valuable Player
Chuck Klein 1932
Jim Konstanty 1950
Mike Schmidt 1980
Mike Schmidt 1981
Mike Schmidt 1986
Ryan Howard 2006
Jimmy Rollins 2007

NL Cy Young
Steve Carlton 1972
Steve Carlton 1977
Steve Carlton 1980
Steve Carlton 1982
John Denny 1983
Steve Bedrosian 1987

NL Rookie of the Year
Jack Sanford 1950
Richie Allen 1964
Scott Rolen 1997
Ryan Howard 2005

NL Manager of the Year
Larry Bowa 2001

Silver Slugger
Manny Trillo 1980
Mike Schmidt 1980
Pete Rose 1981
Manny Trillo 1981
Mike Schmidt 1981
Mike Schmidt 1982
Mike Schmidt 1983
Mike Schmidt 1984
Mike Schmidt 1986
Juan Samuel 1987
Darren Daulton 1992
Lenny Dykstra 1993
Bobby Abreu 2004
Ryan Howard 2006
Chase Utley 2006
Jimmy Rollins 2007
Chase Utley 2007
Chase Utley 2008
Chase Utley 2009

Gold Glove
Bobby Wine 1963
Bobby Shantz 1964
Ruben Amaro 1964
Bill White 1966
Larry Bowa 1972
Garry Maddox 1975
Garry Maddox 1976
Mike Schmidt 1976
Jim Kaat 1976
Garry Maddox 1977
Mike Schmidt 1977
Jim Kaat 1977
Garry Maddox 1978
Mike Schmidt 1978
Larry Bowa 1978
Bob Boone 1978
Garry Maddox 1979
Mike Schmidt 1979
Bob Boone 1979
Manny Trillo 1979
Garry Maddox 1980
Mike Schmidt 1980
Garry Maddox 1981
Mike Schmidt 1981
Manny Trillo 1981
Steve Carlton 1981
Garry Maddox 1982
Mike Schmidt 1982
Manny Trillo 1982
Mike Schmidt 1983
Mike Schmidt 1984
Mike Schmidt 1986
Scott Rolen 1998
Mike Lieberthal 1999
Scott Rolen 2000
Scott Rolen 2001
Bobby Abreu 2005
Jimmy Rollins 2007
Aaron Rowand 2007
Jimmy Rollins 2008
Shane Victorino 2008
Jimmy Rollins 2009
Shane Victorino 2009

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.