© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/24/09 4:57 PM EST

Top prizes elude Phils in '09 campaign

Howard, Happ miss out, but put forth excellent showings

PHILADELPHIA -- The Phillies had some memorable individual performances in 2009, but they didn't take home any hardware.

Guess they will have to settle for being National League champions for the second successive season.

Not a bad consolation prize, huh?

Phillies first baseman Ryan Howard finished third in the National League's Most Valuable Player voting with 217 points. He finished behind St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols, who won unanimously with 32 first-place votes and 448 points, and Florida Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez, who had 233 points. Howard, who hit .279 with 37 doubles, four triples, 45 home runs and 141 RBIs, received votes on 31 ballots.

Howard, who won the NL MVP in 2006, has finished no lower than fifth in the voting in the past four years.

Chase Utley finished eighth with 84 points, Jayson Werth finished 17th with 10 points and Shane Victorino finished 18th with eight points.

Phillies left-hander J.A. Happ fell just short of the NL Rookie of the Year Award, which went to Marlins left fielder Chris Coghlan. Charlie Manuel finished sixth in the NL Manager of the Year voting.

But the Phillies have had their share of major award winners in the past.

The most recent came in 2007, when Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins earned NL MVP honors when he hit .296 with 38 doubles, 20 triples, 30 home runs, 94 RBIs and 41 stolen bases.

Rollins became the first player in baseball history to have 200 hits, 20 doubles, 20 triples, 20 home runs and 20 stolen bases in a season. He set career-highs in games (162), runs (139), hits (212), triples, home runs, RBIs, extra-base hits (88) and at-bats (716). He led the league in at-bats, runs and triples. He set NL records for runs and extra-base hits for a shortstop. He set Major League records for plate appearances (778) and at-bats (716). His 212 hits were the most for a Phillie since Dave Cash had 213 in 1975.

The Phillies have not had a NL Cy Young Award winner since 1987, when Steve Bedrosian won.

In addition to being voted the 2006 NL MVP, Howard also won NL Rookie of the Year in '05.

Here is a look at the Phillies' major award winners in the past:

National Awards
NL Most Valuable Player Year Cy Young Year NL Rookie of the Year Year
Chuck Klein 1932 Steve Carlton 1972 Jack Sanford 1950
Jim Konstanty 1950 Steve Carlton 1977 Richie Allen 1964
Mike Schmidt 1980 Steve Carlton 1980 Scott Rolen 1997
Mike Schmidt 1981 Steve Carlton 1982 Ryan Howard 2005
Mike Schmidt 1986 John Denny 1983
Ryan Howard 2006 Steve Bedrosian 1987
Jimmy Rollins 2007
Manager of the Year Year Silver Slugger Year Gold Glove Year
Larry Bowa 2001 Manny Trillo 1980 Bobby Wine 1963
Mike Schmidt 1980 Bobby Shantz 1964
Pete Rose 1981 Ruben Amaro 1964
Manny Trillo 1981 Bill White 1966
Mike Schmidt 1981 Larry Bowa 1972
Mike Schmidt 1982 Garry Maddox 1975
Mike Schmidt 1983 Garry Maddox 1976
Mike Schmidt 1984 Mike Schmidt 1976
Mike Schmidt 1986 Jim Kaat 1976
Juan Samuel 1987 Garry Maddox 1977
Darren Daulton 1992 Mike Schmidt 1977
Lenny Dykstra 1993 Jim Kaat 1977
Bobby Abreu 2004 Garry Maddox 1978
Ryan Howard 2006 Mike Schmidt 1978
Chase Utley 2006 Larry Bowa 1978
Jimmy Rollins 2007 Bob Boone 1978
Chase Utley 2007 Garry Maddox 1979
Chase Utley 2008 Mike Schmidt 1979
Chase Utley 2009 Bob Boone 1979
Manny Trillo 1979
Garry Maddox 1980
Mike Schmidt 1980
Garry Maddox 1981
Mike Schmidt 1981
Manny Trillo 1981
Steve Carlton 1981
Garry Maddox 1982
Mike Schmidt 1982
Manny Trillo 1982
Mike Schmidt 1983
Mike Schmidt 1984
Mike Schmidt 1986
Scott Rolen 1998
Mike Lieberthal 1999
Scott Rolen 2000
Scott Rolen 2001
Bobby Abreu 2005
Jimmy Rollins 2007
Aaron Rowand 2007
Jimmy Rollins 2008
Shane Victorino 2008
Jimmy Rollins 2009
Shane Victorino 2009

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.